Tamanend Park Day will be celebrating two important historical events. In June of 1683, the revered Lenape Sachem, Tamanend, deeded all lands “between the Pennypack and Neshaminy Creeks and all along the Neshaminy Creek” to William Penn. In 1713 the land that includes Tamanend Park was deeded to Richard Leedom. The Leedom family was the first to live on this property and responsible for building the circa 1740 Farmhouse.
A fun-filled day of family activities includes: the dedication of a new interpretive sign, tours of the Farmhouse and Old School Baptist Meetinghouse (a national landmark), Lenape drum and dance demonstrations, Lenape artifacts, arts and crafts, colonial demonstrations, related non-profit groups, and much more! Andy Pickford, Friends of Tamanend Park says: “Tamanend Park Day is a great way to get families out to our community park. This year will be a top notch event since we are celebrating two very important events in Tamanend Park’s history. Many park visitors may not be aware of the rich history found in Tamanend Park and this year we hope everyone will learn something new!”
Tamanend Park Day is scheduled for Saturday, September 7, 2013.
Opening ceremony at 10 am
Meeting house tours 10:30 and 12:30
Farm house tours 11:30 and 1:30
Lenape “Round Dance” at 2:30
Tamanend Park Day is sponsored by: The Friends of Tamanend Park, The Tamanend Park Herb Gardening Club, The Upper Southampton Historical Advisory Board, and Upper Southampton Township Parks & Recreation. To contact The Friends of Tamanend Park see: our website http://friendsoftamanend.org/ ; phone, 215-672-1248.